Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Incorporated was founded on January 16, 1920 on the campus of Howard University in Washington D.C. by five outstanding, revolutionary women: Arizona Cleaver, Myrtle Tyler, Viola Tyler, Fannie Pettie and Pearl Neal. These visionaries, known fondly as our five pearls, set out to establish a sisterhood rooted in the ideals of Scholarship, Service, Sisterly Love and Finer Womanhood.

Click here for more history on Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.


In 2002, history was made in the Virgin Islands when then International President Barbara West-Carpenter established the Virgin Islands as a State in the Southeastern Region, and appointed Colleen Mae Williams as the first State Director.  Ms. Williams served in the administration of International Presidents Barbara Crockett-Moore and Sheryl P. Underwood.

The State has been recognized for having the largest Archonette Chapter in the Southeastern Region and continued participation in ZHOPE activities.  To date, one national president, five regional directors, three state directors and one national conference planner has visited our shores.

In 2013, Nichole Samuel-Miller was appointed the VI State Director.  As State Director, Mrs. Miller worked with the St. Thomas/St. John District members of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority which resulted in the chartering of a new chapter, Omega Upsilon Zeta.

Mrs. Etta Pickering Mitchell, the current VI State Director, serves as the liaison between the Region and the local chapters, ensuring that all protocol, and policies are adhered to, as well as providing mentoring and presenting workshops.

Now with the officers on the Southeastern Regional Board, VI Zetas are at the forefront of leadership in Zeta.  Sarah-Ann Mitchell serves as the Regional U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Coordinator where she fosters the partnership between the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service and the sorority to promote the preservation of our natural resources.

%d bloggers like this: